September 19, 2021
link to facebook link to twitter

Toledo selected to form Ca. 2020 redistristicting commission

August 14, 2020

On August 7, 2020 Petaluma Health Center, Inc’s (PHC) Chief Administrative Officer, Pedro Toledo, was selected to form part of California’s 2020 Citizens Redistricting Commission (Commission).   

Over 20,000 Californians applied to serve on the commission and were narrowed down to the 60 most qualified applicants identified in May by an Applicant Review Panel. The 60 remaining applicants were reduced to 35 eligible applicants after State legislative leaders, as required by law, exercised their strikes and eliminated 24 applicants. Out of the 35 eligible applicants, eight commissioners were selected on July 2 via a random drawing conducted by The State Auditor. The eight members resulting from the drawing selected the final six members, announcing those final six names late Friday, August 7.  

Toledo will serve a ten-year term with 13 other members from across the state, to form the 14-member Commission entrusted to redraw the lines for California’s Congressional, State Senate, State Assembly, and State Board of Equalization districts, utilizing information from the 2020 census. The Commission must draw the districts by following strict, nonpartisan rules designated to create districts of relatively equal population that will provide representation for all Californians.  

As required by law, five of the commission members are registered Democrats, five are registered Republicans and four are registered as not affiliated with either of those two parties.  

About the 2020 Citizens Redistricting Commission  

Every ten years, after the federal government publishes updated census information, California must redraw the boundaries of its Congressional, State Senate, State Assembly and State Board of Equalization districts. In 2008, California voters passed the Voters FIRST Act authorizing the creation of an independent Commission comprised of 14 members. As mandated by law, the 2020 Commission includes five Democrats, five Republicans and four who are either registered without, or “independent” of, any political party (decline-to-state or no party preference) or with another party.  

For more information, please visit